I've completed my descent into most profound nerdom
2001-12-11 @ 11:42 p.m.


As I was unloading the dishwasher today, I recalled a conversation I had with Alex about the up-coming Star Wars prequal. It went something like this:

ME: "What bothers me, though, is that Hayden Christianson has black hair, but little Anakin and Luke have blonde hair."

ALEX: "That sounds like something one of those completely obsessed nitpickers would ask about at a convention."

She then proceeded to do an imitation of me asking George the question ala Comic Book Store Guy. We laughed; it was quite funny.

But anyway, back to the dishes. I was thinking about this conversation, and realized that it is in fact possible. If we assume and speculate about a number of things:

1. Both Amidala and Shmi Skywalker carry a recessive gene for blonde hair.

2. Anakin received said recessive gene from his mother along with a dominate gene for dark hair.

3. Luke then receive the recessive genes from both his mother and father, while Leia received at least one dominant gene.

However, with out knowing the exact genotypes of Shmi, Anakin, and Amidala, or without observing the phenotypes of their ancestors, this is pure speculation. Come to think of it, this would make an interesting problem for a bio class. You could construct Punnet squares.

Eventhough I demonstrated to myself that these genetic combinations were possible, it lead me to another quandry: If Anakin Skywalker was conceived by midichlorians, where did his DNA come from? Did they just use his mother's? In that case where did he get his Y-chromosome? Wouldn't it make him, then, a clone of his mother? Or is human and midichlorian genetic material compatible?

GAAAAAAAAAAHHH!! Why am I thinking about this? Why can't I stop?

Thought for the day:

I think this whole entry qualifies as today's Thought.

before ~ after

Failing Miserably - 2004-10-08
So Not Dead/Catching Up - 2004-09-20
Murphy's Law - 2,629,163,298, Sarah - 2 - 2004-08-23
Listmainia! continues - 2004-08-04
Continuing the list - 2004-08-02