Belated LOTR: FOTR DVD review
2002-08-09 @ 6:54 p.m.


Tuesday afternoon was ripe with anticipation as I journeyed to the local mall in my dad's trusty (ha!) Ford Corsica on my way to receive my preordered copy of Lord of the Rings: Fellowship of the Rings on DVD (widescreen, of course). I pulled into a parking space, quickly shut off the engine, locked the doors, and headed straight for the Saturday Matinee at a fair pace.

To my delight, I found that the aforementioned store had said movie playing on all six overhanging TV screens. It was the scene in Bag End right after Bilbo's speech and disappearing act.

I waited impatiently at the counter for someone to notice me. In short order, I received my DVD and pre-order goody, thanked the nice man, and was headed back home.

24 hours later, Alex, Abby, Kate and Diane gathered at my house to experience the wonder and awe that is FOTR. We were not disappointed. The movie was great, as usual and the extras were also quite cool. They have the most excellent Sci-Fi channel special on there as well as the Fox one. And we can't forget the 10-minute preview of LOTR: TTT. I was a bit angry, however, that the director's cut comes out in November; I was hoping for a few deleted scenes, at least. I guess I'll start saving my pennies now.

Thought of the Day:

::sighs contentedly:: I love that movie. It's even better with friends and Chinese food.



before ~ after

Failing Miserably - 2004-10-08
So Not Dead/Catching Up - 2004-09-20
Murphy's Law - 2,629,163,298, Sarah - 2 - 2004-08-23
Listmainia! continues - 2004-08-04
Continuing the list - 2004-08-02