Digging for Closure
2002-08-28 @ 12:54 p.m.


I know, I know... A whole 9 days.

We finished up with field school last Friday. After four and a half weeks in the field (at the Field, coincidinkally) and three days in lab, I bid fairwell to a most excellent experience and an even more excellent group of people. ::sighs:: I'm experiencing a bit of post-dig depression.

It's not really even depression: I just miss every one and every thing. I miss screening buckets of dirt, the company of Holly and Jon, making fun of stoner-James, I even miss slag and Herr Demel. It's weird not to see every one every day and hear Tamera's lunch time stories about freelancing at the Trib, or Angie bitching about her wisdom teeth, or constructing some wildly out of whack and hysterical site interpretation involving troll houses, pirate mice, and Zahi Hawahs.

I'm not an archaeologist, but I certainly felt like one. No one else seems to get as excited as we all were at the discovery of an eighth of a plate, or the tiny fragments of paper with Greek writing, or the nearly whole bricks. People seem to be expecting Mrs. O'Leary's cow and such, not a few fragments of ceramics and glass. I guess you had to be there.

Well, it had to end sometime. In a couple of weeks I'll have my field journal and grades back and my dig t-shirt, featuring Jimbo, the smokin', trowel-wieldin' monkey. That should make me feel better.

Thought of the Day:

We hates AOL. We hatesss it forever!

before ~ after

Failing Miserably - 2004-10-08
So Not Dead/Catching Up - 2004-09-20
Murphy's Law - 2,629,163,298, Sarah - 2 - 2004-08-23
Listmainia! continues - 2004-08-04
Continuing the list - 2004-08-02