Rolling Stones and Other Proverbial Fun
2002-09-18 @ 2:57 p.m.


Okay, okay, okay. ::places hand on her copy of LOTR:: I solemnly swear that I will update more often.

We (finally) started classes here at DePaul last Wednesday. It wa probably good that we started on the 11th now that I think about it; it kept me from sitting in front of CNN all day getting progressively more angry that NOTHING has bloody changed in the whole bloody country except for a greater abundance of those bloody bumper stickers and miniture American flags. And that's all I have to say about that.

But classes. I began the year with Quantitative Reasoning which, as Sue said, is DePaul's bullshit math class. The Prof seems nice enough, but the class itself is incredible stupid as I've already taken classes in high school that cover all the material. Thankfully, I was able to test out of it. On the bad side, I don't get to bother lab assistant Abby, but on the good side, I will not murder my thick-headed group members. In the place of QR, I picked up a Geography class, which turns out to be about globalization. It is sooo much better. And, as an added bonus, my professor, Euan, is from Scotland.

Next on Mondays, Wednesdays, and Fridays (actually not next, three hours later) I have Ancient Egypt. It's another incredibly interesting class that I've been trying to get into since last Winter. Dr. Bucking is very hyperactive, in the good way. He paces around the room yelling the lecture with a New York accent. It's great. Jon-from-field-school is in the class too, which is great because it gives me someone to talk to and he's been obliging enough to check over my Latin homework.

Tuesdays and and Thursdays are very long days. Very long. I start at 8:30 with World History III. I really enjoy Dr. Sigel and she has great taste in books. The first book we read and had a paper on was Things Fall Apart . It was amazing.

After a five hour break, I go to Latin. What can I say about Latin? I hate declining nouns, but I need it for grad school. Again, I curse grad school and my want to go.

So that's going to be my life for the next 10 weeks. As much as I am going to complain, it's going to be fun. Now I'm off to an informational session on interning for Disney. This should be interesting.

What else? Oh yeah, I got to go the the Rolling Stones concert last Friday! It was awesome. Actually it was more than awesome. If there was a superlative form of the word "awesome" it would be that. Seeing them live and eight rows away was quite the experience, especially "Sympathy for the Devil." Dude, man, so cool.

Next Monday is a volunteer anthro lab day. I'll probably go to that. Yay, I'll get to see everyone from field school again. And there's a history department eat and greet on Friday. I'm still debating whether or not to go. I'm thinking I should, because it would be nice to know some more people in the department and "network" with my "future collegues" as it were. But then there's the awkwardness thing. I don't know, but I'd better get going if I'm going to get a seat for the Disney brain-washing - er, presentation.

Thought of the Day (in Latin):

Si vales, valeo.

before ~ after

Failing Miserably - 2004-10-08
So Not Dead/Catching Up - 2004-09-20
Murphy's Law - 2,629,163,298, Sarah - 2 - 2004-08-23
Listmainia! continues - 2004-08-04
Continuing the list - 2004-08-02