A Real Mickey Mouse Entry
2002-09-20 @ 12:26 p.m.


I hate having this long break mostly because I waste it. Here I sit in the computer lab, obstenibly working on my "Scramble for Africa" project but, in reality, messing around on the internet and eating an illicit pastry. Oh, well; at least the pastry is good.

Yesterday, I went to my interview with the Disney people. (Parenthetically, I hope you all got a kick out of seeing me in "girl clothes.") It was the least painful interview I've ever gone through, excluding the fact that I had to wear dress shoes. The interviewer, Roger, was very non-threatening. The questions they asked were pretty easy, too. None of those, "You hear a child screaming from inside a burning building guarded by killer llamas. What do you do?" questions. They just asked why you want to work for us, why are you a history major, what's your favorite book, that sort of thing.

I think I came off as kind of eccentric as I said that my favorite part of Disney World was Pirates of the Carribean and my favorite character is Kronk from The Emperor's New Groove. He seemed shocked that anyone had ever even seen that movie. At least I was able to make my love of pirates seem slightly intellectual by saying that, as a historian I find the popculturization of 17th century high seas terrorism interesting. Really, I just think it's funny that Disney World has a ride with song that features a whole verse about arson. But, the important thing is: I think they're going to give me a job.

Now I just have to decide if I want it.

Thought of the Day:

Why do people waste money on college if all they're going to do is sit like inanimate carbon rods in class?

before ~ after

Failing Miserably - 2004-10-08
So Not Dead/Catching Up - 2004-09-20
Murphy's Law - 2,629,163,298, Sarah - 2 - 2004-08-23
Listmainia! continues - 2004-08-04
Continuing the list - 2004-08-02