Dammit, Euan, I'm a Historian not a Meatpacking Plant Manager!
2002-09-25 @ 4:24 p.m.


It needs to be Friday. Badly.

I've actually been keeping up with my work this quarter, so far anyway, and I'm proud of myself for that. I have all my reading done and all of my assignments turned in. Granted, it's only the 3rd week of school, but still.

Ancient Egypt is deffinitly becoming my favorite class. Dr. Bucking is very amusing (he keeps refering to the crown of Upper Egypt as the "Bowling Pin Hat") and going into interesting tangents (today's was the Rosetta Stone and the development of Coptic script). Plus Katelin and Jon from field school are there, so I've escaped the usual "I don't know anyone" anxiety. I pay attention less because of that, but at least I get funny notes from Jon with obscure Manos: Hands of Fate references.

I ran into another field school person today: Tamara, aka the future White House Press Secretary. She was giving her first case presentation for her pre-law class today. I hope that went well for her.

Random: I'm watching The Right Stuff as I type this. I love that movie. Yaay, Tom Wolfe!

Oh, a note on the title. Today in Geography we were role playing an immigration issues debate. I was a rapacious meatpacking corporation manager who wanted to use Hispanic immigrants for cheap labor. I wasn't very good at it. The whole thing pretty much just disintergrated into a "let's gang up on the David Duke supporters!" session. That was funny.

Now to go memorize stuff for that Stupid! latin quiz (of DOOM!) that I have tomorrow. Wish me luck, I'll need it. Valete!

Thought of the Day (courtesy Jon):

It's a real "Oddsbodkins" kind of day.

before ~ after

Failing Miserably - 2004-10-08
So Not Dead/Catching Up - 2004-09-20
Murphy's Law - 2,629,163,298, Sarah - 2 - 2004-08-23
Listmainia! continues - 2004-08-04
Continuing the list - 2004-08-02