A Very Marxist Weekend
2002-10-28 @ 12:34 p.m.


These weekend updates are becoming a tradition, eh?

Well, not much happened this weekend. Friday I went and go water-proof shoes. I like my Converse All-Stars, but they really aren't appropriate for Chicago's fall and winter. Not if you like having dry feet, that is. So I got a pair of boots. Their nice and comfortable, if a bit clunky, and weren't horribly expensive. I also ran into Jon, his girld friend Melissa, and their friend "Crazy" Eddie. It was odd, mostly because I don't connect Jon with being outside of school. Then I went and got me da's birthday gift - a Game Cube. Yaay! I'm excited. Of course it is his gift, but I get to play it too. ::is excited::

Saturday I mostly sat around. Well. first I went and picked up my new pair of glasses, then I sat around. I worked on some webstuff and did my Latin homework.

Sunday, the Lucio-Ebel tradition of taking in the fall color of the Morton Arboritum continued. We drove around in there, my dad tried to catch a falling leaf from the car, and listened to Zelda music. Then I went home and watched movies on HBO for the rest of the day. I finally saw Final Fantasy. The animation was wicked cool, but the plot was ehh and predictable. Frankly, it was Zen Starship Troopers with out the humor. And, I realized that I need to stop going to history class. I was watching Pretty Woman with me mum last night and to distract myself from the annoyance that is Julia Roberts, I started deconstructing the movie for Marxist themes. You see, Richard Gere's unhappiness is a result of the bourgoise alienation from the means of production. He only becomes capable of happiness, love, and controling his destiny after he embraces the need to share in that production. And then there is the obvious parallel between the bitchy sales women and the elite capitalist regime. The scary part is that I had fun doing this.

Protest Slogan of the Day:

Drop Bush, not bombs!

before ~ after

Failing Miserably - 2004-10-08
So Not Dead/Catching Up - 2004-09-20
Murphy's Law - 2,629,163,298, Sarah - 2 - 2004-08-23
Listmainia! continues - 2004-08-04
Continuing the list - 2004-08-02