Papers, Parties, and Chance Meetings
2003-03-11 @ 8:49 a.m.


I finished my paper after about 30 hours of work on the thing. Now I'm just waiting for Dr. Storey to demolish it and give it back to me so I can do a final draft. Oh, and for future reference, the thesis statement does not necessarily have to come at the end of the first paragraph; Steve is a mook. Still, I've got an increadibly late Museum Studies paper to finish, three weeks worth of articles to finish, a book to read (I think), Florida to get ready for, and sanity to preserve. There's more, I'm sure, like studying for finals, that I've forgotten to include in that list.

Last night, while my Mum was driving me home from class, I told her that she could throw me a going away gathering (I'm avoiding the word "party" on purpose) if she still wanted to. She had brought it up before and I was characteristically unenthused. Why? Because it is such a hassle to get my family together, we've no where to put them all in my Hobbit-sized house (and it ain't Bag End), I hate being the center of attention, and when my family gets together general family-type tensions are present in spades. But we'll have the bloody gathering because it will make my Mum happy and it will be nice to see everyone before I leave.

In other news, there was an unplanned Unit 1 reunion yesterday. As I was returning to SAC from the Stu, who should I hear bellowing my name but Jon Overton, the loudest man at DePaul that is not Scott Bucking. He, Holly and Jane Baxter were standing outside the archaeology lab, smoking. So I killed time up in the lab, helping label foil packets and talking with them. I forgot how wacky things get with the three of us. The conversation ranged from "Catholics say a lot of things" to Monty Python to my killing of puppies and orphans by working for Disney to next quarter's archaeology display in the library that Holly's putting up to Jon's patently untrue but very intertaining stories. Again, I miss field school.

Thought of the Day:

On the train this morning, from Washington/Wells to Fullerton, there was this guy chewing - no, popping, his gum. I can deffinately understand how that could drive someone into a murderous rage.

before ~ after

Failing Miserably - 2004-10-08
So Not Dead/Catching Up - 2004-09-20
Murphy's Law - 2,629,163,298, Sarah - 2 - 2004-08-23
Listmainia! continues - 2004-08-04
Continuing the list - 2004-08-02