Meditations while watching Stargate
2003-07-19 @ 7:31 p.m.


Oh, how I love the original Stargate movie. It's on SciFi right now, preceeding Alien Hunter, which will continue the James Spader-y goodness. Oh, and Kawalski is still alive! I always thought that he got a raw deal, getting killed off in the second episode and all. And I'm glad that they delt with O'Neil's tragically dead son early on. Brooding Jack is an annoying Jack, especially when he's Kurt Russel. Can't they give Daniel a better weapon? Come on - give him one of those sweet staff weapons. Oh dear, Sha'uri just died. They couldn't just leave her that way, could they?

It's nice to see that they put some effort into researching the Egyptian antecedents of Abydonian culture. Nice papyrus blossom thing going in the archetecture, Falcons not hawks for Re's guards, correct artisitic conventions on the wall paintings. It's just good to see, and helps me not get distracted while watching the movie. Well, at least not by the set decoration. Okay, I take most of that back: Re has the Hathor crown thingy on. ::snort:: Either they're silly or doing some weird androgynous thing. Of all the crowns of Egypt, why'd they pick that one. Just give him a vulture hat while you're at it, eh?

I'm wondering about the "Abydonian" dialogue, though. Did the writers actually spend the time trying to translate into Egyptian and then attempt to create some sort of coherent pronounciation system? I don't think so. I know I wouldn't - it would take a huge amount of time to find some one to translate all of it and then to even try to begin to figure out how to say the words - oy! No, I'm betting it's some sort of bastardized Arabic. It'd be much easier to find a translater and you wouldn't have to make the grammar and syntax for a language.

Man, Kurt Russel has stupid hair in this. He also has the worst line of dialogue: "Give my regards to King Tut." I definately prefer Richard Dean Andersen's Jack O'Neil. Both Daniel Jacksons are good. I'd ...uh, [insert your own lewd joke here]. Now that I've bored everyone with my fannish natterings, I'll be on my way.

Thought of the Day:

Viva la siesta!

before ~ after

Failing Miserably - 2004-10-08
So Not Dead/Catching Up - 2004-09-20
Murphy's Law - 2,629,163,298, Sarah - 2 - 2004-08-23
Listmainia! continues - 2004-08-04
Continuing the list - 2004-08-02