SS2 Begins
2003-07-22 @ 2:07 p.m.


Back to school, this time for Philosophy 100. I was all excited because it looked like I was only going to have 3 hours of class a week and still get four credits out of the deal. But noooo, DePaul had to go and correct their error. A normal 6 hours a week for me. Darn.

I have my first ever grad-student-as-instructor for this class. It's cool, I guess. I don't feel as intimidated by him (he's ABD so he's not "Dr. Bucannan" yet) and he realizes what it's like to be in a condensed schedule so he lightened the work load. It's also kind of weird to have a teacher that looks as young as you do. He walked into class and all I could think was, "Dude, you're not giving me a grade, are you?" which was completely ignorant of me, but hey, as I've always said, you can either be a hypocrite or a bigot. Given the choice, I'll take the later.

But class was a waste of time today. It's discussion based, so, it being the first day of class, obviously, we couldn't. I'm sorry that last sentence reads like a bad translation from the German. We watched The Matrix. To echo Alex, "Brett, I understand that The Matrix contains Plato's Cave Allegory and all sorts of other philisophical/theological natterings. May I go now?" Oy, hopefully next class will be better, provided that all those bloody business school people actually do the readings and are willing to discuss. Yeah, I'm kind of bigoted against them, too.

Thought of the Day:

Some one shoot me; I'm jonesing for frappachino.

Plus - Shameless Plug of the Day:



before ~ after

Failing Miserably - 2004-10-08
So Not Dead/Catching Up - 2004-09-20
Murphy's Law - 2,629,163,298, Sarah - 2 - 2004-08-23
Listmainia! continues - 2004-08-04
Continuing the list - 2004-08-02