Stupid Descartes
2003-08-06 @ 12:28 p.m.


It's nice to know that one is not alone in one's opinions. In class yesterday, I discovered that pretty much everyone felt the same way about Descartes as I did, that feeling being: "Whaaaaa?" There was also a small but vocal contingent that felt that "dude, he must have been totally stoned when he wrote this." I'm a little more clear on it after we discussed it, but I still don't like Descartes. He bugs me. I'm skeptical that anyone can argue, philosophize, whatever from the position of complete ignorance - one's perception of the world is too ingrained to just chuck it all and pretend you disbelieve it. Besides that, he's too rational. Life sometimes needs room for intuition. I also have the feeling that, especially in the 3rd Meditation, he already holds a coviction and is arguing towards it, whether he realizes it or not. And his arguement isn't very convincing anyhow.

So now I'm reading up on Rene at Spark Notes. It's a cool site: they're like Cliff's Notes, but not evil. You actually have to have read the material to figure out what they're getting at. And they do a pretty good analysis that gets you to think. Hopefully, I feel a little more prepared for tomorrow.

In other news, mum painted my new room yesterday. I was going to do it myself, but that's mum for you. Apparently, I am unable to do things like that with any competency. I would have gone and helped her after school, but I know how that would have turned out: "No, like this." "Here, just let me . . ." "Sarah, will you just go get me a . . ." She needs to do everything her own way and I just end up feeling in the way. So I'll just let her do what she does.

Thought of the Day:

Tom Skilling is the best weatherman ever.

before ~ after

Failing Miserably - 2004-10-08
So Not Dead/Catching Up - 2004-09-20
Murphy's Law - 2,629,163,298, Sarah - 2 - 2004-08-23
Listmainia! continues - 2004-08-04
Continuing the list - 2004-08-02