Bookish Rambling
2003-08-16 @ 4:14 p.m.


I hate being bored. For some reason it brings out my inner bitch. I really wish I had my knitting stuff - at least that would keep my hands busy.

I'm trying to work through Dostoevsky's "The Grand Inquisitor" for Tuesday. It's actually very good and interesting. But on can only take so much of a Russian existentialist novel before one must take a break.

Speaking of reading, the only thing I have left is Gary Jennings' Aztec. So far, I'm not really enjoying it. I'd be much more interested in a fully historical account of the culture rather than a fictionalized one. The author also seems fond of gratuitous sex and violence. There's nothing bad about that per se, I'm just really not in the mood right now. And it's written in first person, which is really just bugging the heck out of me, for some unknown reason. I'm thinking of just springing for the hard cover of The Dante Club or one of the suggestions people were nice enough to leave me. Really I shouldn't. I can't actually justify the cost right now and the derth of reading material would probably be beneficial to me getting my paper done on time.

In other news: Governor Dean (whose linky button is over to your left) is coming to town on the 26th. I'm having serious thoughts about attending, which just goes to show that his campaign has suckered me into being an idealistic college student. Go him. Now if only he could actually win.

Thought of the Day:

I'm not a fanfic addict. I can stop any time I want. Really.

before ~ after

Failing Miserably - 2004-10-08
So Not Dead/Catching Up - 2004-09-20
Murphy's Law - 2,629,163,298, Sarah - 2 - 2004-08-23
Listmainia! continues - 2004-08-04
Continuing the list - 2004-08-02