Kree!
2003-08-24 @ 10:13 a.m.


Guess what I'm doing today? That's right - my paper. I had the best intentions of finishing it early, really. It's just that thing keep happening - cue update:

Thursday was the last day of class. It would have been sort of sacreligious to do homework on the last day of class. So I had Thai food instead.

I spent Friday helping out at the house and was then told to go and buy pants. You know it's bad when my dad notices that your pants are looking ripped, frayed, and generally icky. I hate clothes shopping. Or, rather, I hate malls. And that night was the Stargate summer finale, so I watched that and subsequently complained about the lack of new episodes until January. Bloody SciFi and they're staggered seasons. Of course they had to make it a two parter. So now I've got to wait 5 months to see how they defeat the new wicked cool baddie. They've also left Daniel and Dr. Lee in distress. That bit was kind of weird. With all the neato villans in the Stargate universe, what happens? They're captured by random Honduran rebels. All together now: Whaaaaaaaa? Frankly, I think they may just be setting up and opportunity for Special-Ops!O'Neill to kick ass and save Geek=Weak!Daniel. It's just . . . Honduran rebels? Since when are we recycling the plots from Russel Crowe movies? [/end SG rant]

Saturday was filled with furnature buying goodness. When I say "goodness" I mean confusing, exhausting, and irritating. And then Master Card screwed my mum over. It was sort of amusing to listen to her get snarky with the customer service girl, though. Later we rented movies. I highly recomend Michael Moore's Bowling for Columbine. It's very clever and thoughtful. He treated the issue of gun violence in a very interesting manner, searching for the root cause rather than screaming abuse and laying blame. I'd really like to read Dr. Glassner's book, Culture of Fear, that was discussed. I was impressed with the way Moore confronted people - very direct but not disrespectful. It's just a shame that people like Charleton Heston refuse to have a dialogue on the subject. Moore may be an agitator, but, then again, we need agitators.

So I've finished my Sunday morning routine - cleaned up my room, folded my laundry, and read the paper (by the way: the Trib's Perspective section has several interesting articles today - one about erosion of civil liberites and another about preventitive war, both by DePaul faculty). Now, I'm going to actually start my paper. Really. I'm serious.

Thought of the Day:

January. Why?



before ~ after

Failing Miserably - 2004-10-08
So Not Dead/Catching Up - 2004-09-20
Murphy's Law - 2,629,163,298, Sarah - 2 - 2004-08-23
Listmainia! continues - 2004-08-04
Continuing the list - 2004-08-02