Lost in the Translation
2003-09-16 @ 10:26 a.m.


I had to read the Rig Veda and the Katha Upanishad for by Asian philosophy class. It was difficult and therefore enjoyable and gratifying. What I'm still having trouble with is articulating my thoughts. How can you accurately apply Western terminology to non-Western literature, philosophy, theology, thought processes? As useful and good and amazing as language is, it can sometimes be a huge barrier. I look at works and I wonder: How good is the translation? What am I missing by not reading the original choices of the author? I'm not sure if this is an argument for or against a multi-language society. Yes, a mono-language culture would ensure that we could all communicate and there wouldn't be linguistic misunderstandings. However, that sort of conflict is, on some level, desirable. It's necessary for change. I don't think homogeny and harmony is always better than a heterogeneous sometimes messy discussion between widely disparate individuals. Besides, the spectre of 1984's news-speak still scares the hell out of me.

Thought of the Day:

I'm starting to realize that reading and writing may actually be sort of the same thing. Or at least so connected that I can't really tell where one ends and the other begins.

before ~ after

Failing Miserably - 2004-10-08
So Not Dead/Catching Up - 2004-09-20
Murphy's Law - 2,629,163,298, Sarah - 2 - 2004-08-23
Listmainia! continues - 2004-08-04
Continuing the list - 2004-08-02