Bloody Krishna. I'll moksha him!
2003-09-23 @ 5:20 p.m.


We're still on the Bhagavad-Gita in Asian Philosophy. That class is interesting but not enjoyable for some reason. I think it has something to do with Inappropiate Analogies Guy (formerly Pedantic Boy). I just dread seeing his hand raised.

Anyway, we're talking about whether or not the Hindu concept of samsara (death/rebirth cycle) is comforting or not. That's actually our next discussion question, but I'm going to hash it out here. My first instinct is to say that it is. I mean, none of us are getting out of this alive, so it's kind of nice to think that something, even if it is only one's atman, keeps going. However, does it really matter at all if it is only one's atman that is surviving. We haven't actually been able to adequately describe what exactly the atman is, but it seems to be one's awarness - something just sitting there getting carted around by one's body. So, if it's just the atman surviving, one's youness is just gone, I guess. That's hardly comforting. Even if I and everybody I love gets reincarnated into another life, I'm not going to remember them and they're not going to be the same people even, so what good is it. It might, I dunno, get you closer to moksha if you're lucky, but your youness isn't going to be able to appreciate it. I'm rather attached to my youness and the youness of all of you fine people.

Krishna would say "That's the problem; quit whinning." To which I reply, "Cram it with walnuts, Ugly."

Thought of the Day:

Have you ever actually tried to define the word "on"? It's mostly impossible to do off the top of your head. Dictionary.com lists 46 different uses not including idiomatic phrases.

before ~ after

Failing Miserably - 2004-10-08
So Not Dead/Catching Up - 2004-09-20
Murphy's Law - 2,629,163,298, Sarah - 2 - 2004-08-23
Listmainia! continues - 2004-08-04
Continuing the list - 2004-08-02