Theme-less
2003-09-28 @ 2:29 p.m.


I think I'll go back to updating even when I don't have anything very interesting or important to say. I was trying not to because I realize that it's kind of boring to read about the fact that I had chicken quesadillas for lunch or that I bought a new jacket. But, hey, I can be boring if I want to. Besides, I think there may be something valuable in the mundane, if only that it's additional writing practice and that a year from now I'll be able to remember what I was doing on a given date.

Thursday on my way home, I bought Rufus Wainwright's new album, Want, One, so he's been in my ear for the majority of the last few days. The man is bloody brilliant. I unfortunately can't give a better assessment, as I have no skills as a music critic. But you've got to love the man for sampling Ravell. On an unrelated note, I also ran into Prof. Hague. I'm frustrated to see that that hasn't gone away.

Sitting in the Writing Center on Friday I realized that I'm suffering slightly from the "Writing Tutor Mind Whammy." This ailment is characterized by the sudden onset of the fear that one's writing does in fact suck and that one thus has no right to be trying to help others with their own writing. I think I'll get over it eventually, I just keep having the urge to rip up everything I've ever written. In American Studies, Loud Stupid Lacking in Human Compassion Freshman (whose name I'm going to have to learn or start refering to as LSLHCF) did not give me an excuse to try and make her cry. That was a good thing. I guess. [Please check back an entry to see why I want to make her cry.]

Saturday I did laundry and watched this really very excellent documentary on Bravo. It was The Animated Century and they did a very interesting survey of different animation styles and themes throughout the century and around the world. And, of course, the Cubs won the Central Division. Eventhough I'm a South Sider, I have to be happy that some one from Chicago, at least, won. It appear's that Rachel's husband's plan for transfering the curse to the Astros worked.

Today, Sunday has consisted of me trying to hook up the PC to the internet. I finally got the bloody thing working, but I'm covered with cat hair and who knows what else from crawling around down there. I am very very itchy. Now I have a couple of hours to kill until I leave to meet Sue and Abby for Lost in the Translation. I'm really looking forward to that. If only it was is wider release, so I didn't have to schlep all the way up there. It'll be a nice drive, anyway. More time to listen to Rufus.

Thought of the Day:

I think I finally figured out who my philosophy professor reminds me of: Blair Sandburg. Which will mean nothing to anyone, as I was only one of about 5 dozen people who watched The Sentinel.

before ~ after

Failing Miserably - 2004-10-08
So Not Dead/Catching Up - 2004-09-20
Murphy's Law - 2,629,163,298, Sarah - 2 - 2004-08-23
Listmainia! continues - 2004-08-04
Continuing the list - 2004-08-02