I despise the Red Eye and all that it stands for!
2003-10-02 @ 10:38 a.m.


It's a struggle to stay awake most days. I feel so detatched. It isn't that American Studies of Asian Philosohphy is uninteresting, it's just that it's day after day of lecture. I don't feel intellectually engaged because there's no reason for me to think beyond what I need to write down. History is the worst. Not only do I lack the necessary experience and context of the material, but I have no papers to write that will force me to gain those things. Writing Center Theory is most definately my favorie class because it is the only truly discussion-based class I have this quarter. It may be an evening class at the end of a 12 hour day, but I'm always engaged and interested.

I wish I had more classes like that. I actually, I wish life was more like that. I just can't find a space in everyday life where that sort of discussion or academic-like discourse is comfortable. People just don't like to talk about/like that. I guess I could rant about the streak of anti-intellectualism inherrent in American society or the growing banality of it all, but I'm too bloody tired of it and it wouldn't do any good, anyway.

Though of the Day:

Why do they make head phones that do not block sound from external listeners?

before ~ after

Failing Miserably - 2004-10-08
So Not Dead/Catching Up - 2004-09-20
Murphy's Law - 2,629,163,298, Sarah - 2 - 2004-08-23
Listmainia! continues - 2004-08-04
Continuing the list - 2004-08-02