Out of Character
2003-11-06 @ 9:03 a.m.


Before I start my entry proper, the website of the day: The Swearsaurus. Just in case you need to tell some one off in Cantonese, Farsi, or Xhosa.

I did something surprisingly out of character last night: I was social. With people I had never met before. One of the Chicago Nanoers proposed a meet up at the Boarders out in Orland, so I decided (with a bit of trepedation) to go. I'm really glad I did. Thankfully, only two other people showed up. That I can deal with. We started out as a "write-in" sort of thing, but we ended up having this great meandering conversation about movies and writing and careers and voice and the baggage associated with being a "McAuley girl." It was probably one of the best intellectual conversations that I've had in a long time. So, yeah, I went out and met new people and it was good. Really, I'm rather shocked (in the good way).

On the novel front: it sucks, but I'm okay with that. Good writing is not my actual goal here. Adrik, however, is turning out better than I had expected. Unfortunately, he's also trying to hijack the story.

3:52 pm

Kate wrote, in reference to NaNo: "Sometimes I think it's a really cool idea and everyone should do it, but other times I find myself saying that it's super dumb and degrading to the art of literature and don't these people have anything better to do?"

I'm totally with the ambivalence thing. I mean, I'm purposely setting out to write a really crappy novel with godawful prose and flat characters. I feel English literature appreciation guilt. But then again, I know that it's a crappy novel, and furthermore, no one is ever, ever, EVER going to read it. My goal is to learn by failure.

Thought of the Day will be on hiatus until Sarah gets her shit together. In it's place, we bring you the following quote (courtesy Louis Carrol):

"And now the time has come for us to talk of many things:/ Of ships and stamps and sealing wax/ Of cabbages and kings."

before ~ after

Failing Miserably - 2004-10-08
So Not Dead/Catching Up - 2004-09-20
Murphy's Law - 2,629,163,298, Sarah - 2 - 2004-08-23
Listmainia! continues - 2004-08-04
Continuing the list - 2004-08-02