Devil's Advocate
2004-02-17 @ 11:22 a.m.


I dislike the McGaw computer lab, more for the whiney folks who think that it is our job in the Writing Center to fix its ills than for anything it's done to me personally. It's cramped and the tables aren't quite plumb, which is , I suppose, apt as this paper is also not on the level. In short - I lie. A lot.

Partially because I have no strong feelings on interpretations of the American Revolution (beyond an abiding hatred for The Patriot) and partially because I enjoy playing devil's advocate even with myself, I'm constructing a thesis that I do not believe in with an argument that doesn't really convince me of its validity. If the topic isn't interesting (and it isn't) at least I can play games with the execution.

I like the American Revolution much less than I should as an American historian. I don't know why. Disaffectation? Anglophilia? Distrust in Democracy (which we are not, by the way)? Postmodern nihilism or someother amalagam of terms that doesn't actually mean anything?

Frankly, I think I'm thinking about this too much.

Thought of the Day:

I just finished The Murder of Helen Jewett and I have the strangest urge to write a fanfic about it.

before ~ after

Failing Miserably - 2004-10-08
So Not Dead/Catching Up - 2004-09-20
Murphy's Law - 2,629,163,298, Sarah - 2 - 2004-08-23
Listmainia! continues - 2004-08-04
Continuing the list - 2004-08-02