viva home!
2004-06-20 @ 11:43 a.m.


I love that back-from-vacation feeling. It's nice to be able to sleep in one's own bed with books and cats around. And it's QUIET for once. Let me start at the beginning...

My parents took me to Las Vegas for a week because I turned 21 and they like to gamble. I like to play cards, but I don't like to gamble; it requires very little skill and I have no luck and it costs money. The plane ride was fine, except for my dad freaking out. He absolutely hates to fly. I should have given him the Litany Against Fear before we took off - it helps, it really helps. After arriving 2 hours late, thanks to the stupid jerkfaces at ATA who cancelled our flight and put us on a later one with out mentioning it, we arrived and checked into the Excallabur. (Nyah, I got to stay in a big gaudy fake castle.)

I enjoyed doing the touristy things best: We saw Hoover Dam, which was very very ginormous and cool. They still have a bunch of exhibits that were (obviously) made in the 1950s, so I got a kick out of that. The Star Trek Experience was great the second time around, as well. We got harased by a Klingon and I ate "Tribbles" at Quark's and it was fannish and awesome. I also saw the Gambling Museum, which needs some work and proved to me that I should be in the museum field as I took down the name and phone number of the curator and thought about calling to offer suggestions. (I won't, though: it would be terribly impudent of me. Maybe when I have an actual degree in the field.) I played in the arcades a lot too. Me and dad beat House of the Dead II, which rocked. And they had Lord of the Rings pinball!!! Best pinball game Ever (replacing Jurassic Park pinball as winner of that award). I won a number of free games on it too, much to the disappointment of the children waiting for their turns.

It was a good time, but we stayed too long and I have no urge to go back. It's sooooo loud and crowded, which grates on my nerves. It also depresses and angers me, all the excess. I'm just glad to be home, though I wish I would have gotten back a few hours earlier, so that I could have seen Rufus. I really looking forward to this summer, too. I've got a couple interesting classes and a stack of good books to read, and stuff to occupy myself with.

Thought of the Day:

I miss PoA. It's been far too long since I've read or seen it.

before ~ after

Failing Miserably - 2004-10-08
So Not Dead/Catching Up - 2004-09-20
Murphy's Law - 2,629,163,298, Sarah - 2 - 2004-08-23
Listmainia! continues - 2004-08-04
Continuing the list - 2004-08-02