Spring Quarter 2004
2004-03-30 @ 3:20 p.m.


Monday, Wednesday

Intro to Public History, 3:30-5:00
I'm really looking forward to this one, as it is what I want to do when I grow up. Prof. Eslinger is rather kooky and formerly worked in advertising. I'm not sure if those two things are related, but she did bring in a Jimmy-Carter-as-a-peanut transitor radio. I also have to take an architectural tour of Chicago for the class, which is a really cool assignment.

Tuesday

The American Experience II, 1:30-3:00
My last American Studies core course. It should be interesting; we talk a lot about media. We went around and introduced ourselves today. I always think of more intelligent things to say afterward; I really hate that. My prof. is called Allison McCracken, and I just think that's an awesome name.
Human Diversity, 5:45-9:00
Well, the course is subtitled "The Anthropology of Race and Gender," neither of which particularly piques my interest (and that makes me just the worst liberal ever), but Bill Middleton teaches it and he's da man. Even if it isn't my favorite topic and we have 2 papers (correction one shortish paper and one monstrosity), it still looks pretty interesting, especially since he's probably going to spend the whole quarter refuting the biological theory of race. And we're reading a Stephen J. Gould book. I heart Stephen J. Gould, but not as much as I heart Carl Sagan; it would be fun to have a dinner party [from beyond the grave] with them.

Thursday

The American Experience II, 1:30-3:00
The Civil War Era, 5:45-9:00
I really enjoy taking my profs' specialty classes. This one is with Dr. Storey who is brilliant but gives way too much reading. And papers, did I mention the papers. My running total of papers I must do is now up to 9. And those are just ones that are 4 pages plus.

I'll finish off descriptions when I actually go to the classes, but that's my quarter so far. I kind of don't want work to start next week because I'm enjoying puttering around the house until 10 or so in the morning.

In other news, I've declared war on eFollet. I ordered all of my text books from Amazon Market place and save over $100. It would have been more but I sprang for expedited shipping. Take THAT! stupid lousey price-gouging bookstore.

Thought of the Day:

Reading Tom Shipply's The Shapping of Middle Earth has made me realize that Tolkien was even more brillianter (if I may use a Sam-ism) than I previously comprehended.

And, because Memes rule:
Your Night Out With Remus J. Lupin by astraynotion
Username
Favourite book
Eye colour
Remus isstammering, because he thought only Sirius could make him feel this way.
He cant get enough ofyour witticisms and anecdotes.
The night starts out withawkwardness that dissolves with the swirl of dusk in an evening stroll.
It finishes up withRemus on bended knee with a ring conjured from the flames of true love.
You have foundsomething that'll keep you flat on your back all winter.
Created with quill18's MemeGen 3.0!
Yes, that alternate reality will do quite nicely, thank you. One ticket, please.

before ~ after

Failing Miserably - 2004-10-08
So Not Dead/Catching Up - 2004-09-20
Murphy's Law - 2,629,163,298, Sarah - 2 - 2004-08-23
Listmainia! continues - 2004-08-04
Continuing the list - 2004-08-02