Winter Quarter update, finally
2004-01-15 @ 8:25 a.m.


Ooooh I finally have time to update. I'm so wonderfully busy this quarter. (N.B. The last sentence is not sarcastic. Really.) Speaking of, my class schedule:

Monday, Wednesday, Friday
8:30-9:30,United States History 1800-1900
Eventhough I generally loathe survey classes, this one is rather enjoyable. We're reading a couple of cool books and a textbook that isn't too bad as textbooks go. The class is just really laid back and we talk about current events in relation to the 19th century. It's fun. Maybe because it's my one and only goof off class.
12:00-1:00, The Great Depression and New Deal Era
My first 300 level history class. It's a good time, despite all the reading and the hell we've had to go through to get all the books we need. Surprisingly, I'm enjoying the economic side of it. And I get to use the phrase "redistribution of wealth" all the time.

Tuesday, Thursday
11:50-1:20, American Political Drama
My first proper English class in 2 years. It's difficult to get back in that mode. I took this class because we read cool stuff like Inherit the Wind, Waiting for Lefty, and some guerrelia theater pieces. My prof. reminds me of Mrs. Neary, so that's pretty great. Unfortunately, Not-Funny Guy from a previous history class is there. He's still not funny.
1:30-3:00, The American Experience: to 1860
This is part I of the American Studies department's methods class. Yay methods classes! We do a little bit of everything: ethnography, archaeology, material culture, documents, popular culture. I think I'm most nervous about this class; it has the heaviest interpretive workload. But we get to go to the Historical Society.

Writing Center

M W F - 10-11
T TH - 9-11
I'm glad of the hours, but I dislike being there every day. It takes up all of my between class time, which is why I haven't been updating.

Yes, well, here's hoping for a tolerable or better quarter.

Thought of the Day:

MCELLLLLLLLLLVAAAAAAAAAAINNNNE!!!

before ~ after

Failing Miserably - 2004-10-08
So Not Dead/Catching Up - 2004-09-20
Murphy's Law - 2,629,163,298, Sarah - 2 - 2004-08-23
Listmainia! continues - 2004-08-04
Continuing the list - 2004-08-02