Best movie ever? Maybe not.
2002-12-18 @ 11:30 p.m.


Please, if you haven't seen TTT DO NOT read. Unless you want to read spoilers, then, by all means, read on.

I'm going to divide this entry into two parts. For, you see, I am deeply ambivalent about what Pete Jackson did with The Two Towers.

Fan Girl Sarah's Reaction

Dude!! I love Peter Jackson and the whole cast of LOTR (save Liv Tyler)!!!!! They did a great job with the movie. The Ents, looked mondo faboo and Gandalf is back and and and HELM'S DEEP! best scene ever. I cannot praise enough the Smeagol scenes! And, although Dwarves are not given the credit they deserve, I really liked Comic-Relief-Gimli. I'm so glad they kept Legolas and Gimli's running count in. Oh, and I've decided I want a Sam. It doesn't have to be the Sam, just a Sam.

Enter Tolkien Purist Sarah

Pete, you know I love you and I thought FOTR was a masterwork - LOTR as it was meant to be seen. But, I think you may be taking a bit too much creative license. I know that it's difficult to please hard core fans and the movie going public and make a watchable movie - Tolkien certainly wasn't writing for a three-script deal. It's just that TTT is my favorite book of the series and I love the structure and the development in it. Here are my major quibbles:

The first 45 minutes of the film. They flashing between the major story threads was too confusing, even for someone who has read the books. File this under structure. I liked how you didn't find out what was happening to Frodo and Sam until the second part. It builds tension. You're all "Oh, good, Merry and Pippin are alright....But what about Frodo!" At least I am. I liked how Tolkien did it.

The Arwen Stuff. Again. Mostly I don't like Arwen, especially film Arwen. She's not supposed to be in the second book. She's supposed to be at home, sewing. And, the Aragorn-Arwen back-story is both unnecessary (Tolkien saw fit to stick it in the appendices, not in the book itself) and confusing, especially when coupled with the bizarre wounding of Aragorn. What was that?

Speaking of "What the hell was that?": The Elves ::gestures wildly:: Where did that come from? "I'm Peter Jackson and I'm just gonna make stuff up." That strays very very VERY far from the book. If that scene is being filmed in New Zealand, the Book is over here in Chicago, sitting in my lap. That's just too far away from what the author intended to count as artistic license. Maybe, Pete, you were trying to echo the Last Alliance. But, may I direct your attention to the word LAST in that phrase? Cooperation between the races of Middle Earth is a lovely message, but you're messing with one of the fundamental characteristics of the elves of the Third Age: their time is passing, thus their involvement in the affairs of Middle Earth is waining also. And was it really necessary to kill Haldir? He seemed like a nice enough Elf.

I think the only thing that I truly disliked about your interpretation was how the Ents reacted. They aren't supposed to be wishy-washy!! Sure, they took a long time to decide to act, but once they did, BAM! You shouldn't have messed with the outcome of the Entmoot, it was much more exciting and moving in the book. And where were the spooky Hurors? I loved those things. And why didn't they show up at Helm's Deep, like they were supposed to?

And, finally, Pete, couldn't you have at least finished the book?

Sigh. I want to see it again.

Oh, and I�ve been instructed to report Abby�s reaction. She was also ambivalent. She and discussed that (including the above points and others) with Kate and Arthur after the show. She cried with both joy and sorrow, I believe, and because she was upset about something not working out, but I really didn�t understand what she was talking about � you�ll have to ask her.

The above paragraph is proof positive that I am not meant to be a reporter. Sorry �bout that. I�ll probably put up a comprehensive account of the 4th Annual Dinner Party and Alex and Sarah�s Comparatively Non-Bogus Journey to Missouri tomorrow.

Thought of the Day:

I�ve just witnessed the most bizarre scene: young Dr. Watson being attacked by phantom pasties.



before ~ after

Failing Miserably - 2004-10-08
So Not Dead/Catching Up - 2004-09-20
Murphy's Law - 2,629,163,298, Sarah - 2 - 2004-08-23
Listmainia! continues - 2004-08-04
Continuing the list - 2004-08-02