Naked Boys, DePaul, Bread, the Fourth, and Treason of the Day
2002-07-05 @ 7:04 p.m.


Wow, I'm bad at updating, as previously stated. But anyway...

The last week was really quite boring. The last thing of note was last Saturday when I went to see Naked Boys Singing at the Baliwick with Kate, Alex, and Abby. It was really great. There's just something so absurdly funny about naked people. And it proves that there is, in fact, truth in advertising.

I went down to DePaul to return those books. I will never ever finish that research paper. I need a deadline or things just don't get done. Speaking of DePaul: 17 days until I start digging stuff up. It better not get much hotter outside.

I finished two of my books: Maraget Atwood's The Edible Woman and Maguire's Wicked: The Life and Times of the Wicked Witch of the West. I highly recomend both. Unfortunately, my Dad took one of my other books with him camping. Oh, yeah, me mum and dad went camping this weekend. So: party at Sarah's! I'm taking advantage of the empty house to bake bread. As usual, the dough isn't rising properly.

Alex, Abby, and Diane were over yesterday for the Fourth. It was good to see them, but I despise the holiday. I hate the 4th of July. Mostly because of the explosions and sudden, loud noises. If you remember watching the Gulf War on CNN, you'll have a pretty good idea of what my block looked like last night. And this brings me to

The Thought of the Day:

Excuse me while I commit treason. But what I really dislike is the jingoism. Everyone mindlessly chants "USA! USA!" and "Hooray America!" with a few "Terrorists suck"s thrown in with out actually thinking about. There's nothing wrong with patrotism, I guess. I, however, haven't been able to feel anything akin to it since mid-October. There's the meat of it: I feel betrayed by the spirit of America. Not because the electorial college is a joke, or because the Department of Education didn't give me enough financial aid, or because I'm a disaffected teenager. For a while there, after September 11th, I had some hope, maybe even a liitle pride. Things were going to change; Americans were going to bloody wake up from their smuggness and realize that there's a reason most of the world hates us. But what did I get? Bumper stickers and business as usual. It's enough to make anyone cynical and a little pissy around the Fourth.

before ~ after

Failing Miserably - 2004-10-08
So Not Dead/Catching Up - 2004-09-20
Murphy's Law - 2,629,163,298, Sarah - 2 - 2004-08-23
Listmainia! continues - 2004-08-04
Continuing the list - 2004-08-02