Playing Catch Up
2003-05-27 @ 11:47 a.m.


So it's been three weeks since I've been home. I finally understand what people were taking about when they complained about "life after Disney." It's more than the fact that I can't stop doing the Disney-point or finding hidden Mickeys or noticing when the cashier doesn't count change back the "correct" way. I think I actually miss it there. The job, of course, sucked. Very little pay for grunt work, most of which went to pay for overpriced company housing (NB: I've heard rumors of a class action suit about that). Oh and the roommates! I can't imagine spending another minute with those immature, homophobic, idiotic, MTV-slave, drunken sorority girls and their various hangers on (goddamn frat boys). But if I'm perfectly honest with myself (for a change) there were times I had fun. We did connect, even if it was on a superficial level for very short periods of time. Maybe they pump some kind of happy-drug into the air there that makes you think, "hey, this isn't that bad." Even when you know there were days you wanted to tear your hair out if you had to clean one more rest room or because some Guest was berating for not having menorahs in stock, you look back with a little nostalgia, a little regret. Tempered, of course, with some well-deserved cynicism.

I am willing to admit that if the experience wasn't all good, it was definitely good for me. I learned a lot about myself: I can too easily slip into that 9 to 5, menial job routine; I need school; I like having that sort of freedom; I can swear graphically when provoked; people think I'm square and I can handle that; I am an intellectual elitist bitch and I'm sorry about that; even when the opportunity for no consequence drinking arises, I don't want to; freedom is not worth the price of stepping outside my comfort zone; I am beyond grateful for all you fine people; I can abuse the fact that people think I'm innocent; people see me as a can-do gal and I'm not sure how I feel about that. And so on and so forth. Lots of that good introspection stuff that I haven't quite processed all the way.

So there is life after Disney, thankfully. It just takes a bit of time to slide back into it and incorporate the stuff you brought back and adjust to what's been happening in your absence.

Thought of the Day:

My cat is being an attention grubbing, cuddle-whore.



before ~ after

Failing Miserably - 2004-10-08
So Not Dead/Catching Up - 2004-09-20
Murphy's Law - 2,629,163,298, Sarah - 2 - 2004-08-23
Listmainia! continues - 2004-08-04
Continuing the list - 2004-08-02