1 Angry Sarah
2003-09-25 @ 10:28 a.m.


Yesterday was the first time in a very long time that I actually really wanted to physically hurt someone. I'm taking notes for this woman in my American Studies class. I think she's hearing impared in some way because she tapes the lecture and, when you talk to her, she seems to be reading lips. That's not the problem. All it involves is putting a sheet of carbon paper under my note book.

What's driving me toward violence is contingent of freshmen in that class. They're boxes of rocks. Rude, loud, unkind boxes of rocks. They make fun of this woman because she doesn't conform to their standards of normalicy. They are absolutely amazed that I should be willing to actually help her and not feel grudging and put out by it. One of them actually said to me that she shouldn't be taking the class if she needs that sort of help.

That was the point where I had to restrain myself. This girl, this stupid stupid girl, apparently doesn't think that people with disabilities should have an opportunity for education. We shouldn't have to try to accomedate them so that they can fully participate in society. I suppose we should just relegate them all to menial jobs because they are obviously less able than those of us free of physical defects. Better yet, why don't we just get rid of all of them so we don't have to be bothered by their special needs. She's a budding Hitler is what she is.

I don't know what to do about this. I really really want to do something about this, but I don't know what. Actually, yes I do, but that's what I shouldn't do. I know if she says something again, I'm not going to be able to stop my self from ripping into her verbally. Just thinking about it makes my blood boil. I'd like to think she's ignorant rather than mean, but given humanity, it's unlikely.

Thought of the Day:

Waffles!

before ~ after

Failing Miserably - 2004-10-08
So Not Dead/Catching Up - 2004-09-20
Murphy's Law - 2,629,163,298, Sarah - 2 - 2004-08-23
Listmainia! continues - 2004-08-04
Continuing the list - 2004-08-02